top of page
  • Writer's pictureVOB

Applications are now open for the prestigious College of Europe

You can now apply for the prestigious College of Europe programmes.

The academic programmes of Bruges and Natolin (Warsaw) campuses provide students with a specialized grounding in the European dimension of their fields of study as well as an in-depth understanding of Europe in all its complexity.

The one-year programme lasts from September until the end of June, and to be awarded the accredited Master, students must take oral and written examinations at the end of each semester as well as submit a Master's thesis.

Students enroll in one of the following academic programmes:

  • MSc in European Economic Studies

  • MA in EU International Relations and Diplomacy

  • Master of European Law (LLM) Studies

  • MA in European Political and Governance Studies

  • Master of Arts in Transatlantic Affairs (MATA)


The Bruges campus of the College of Europe offers very specialised programmes focusing on European Affairs. The host city is well known for its stunning beauty and is within easy reach of Brussels and the key EU and International institutions, think tanks, and other stakeholders in the European project.

Each year around 350 students from over 50 different countries come together to nurture and exchange ideas on the European project. Dynamic professors and small group teaching feature in its offer of a unique teaching and living experience. Students are housed in residences throughout the city and have access to a wide range of cultural and sporting activities.


The Natolin campus of the College of Europe is at the cutting edge of the academic study of new developments in the EU and neighbouring countries. Its interdisciplinary programme focuses on multilateral dimensions of the EU, and is complemented by two study trips which provide students with a wider perspective on Europe and its neighbourhoods.

Located on a historic estate and nature reserve, Natolin allows for a communal collegiate atmosphere, welcoming around 130 students from more than 30 countries each year. As an internationally-recognised centre of excellence, Natolin promotes debate, research, and training on topical European challenges, particularly in the areas of energy and climate transition, security, social movements, and media.

About the College of Europe

The College of Europe (French: Collège d'Europe) is a post-graduate institute of European studies with its main campus in Bruges, Belgium, and a smaller campus in Warsaw, Poland. The College of Europe in Bruges was founded in 1949 by leading historical European figures and founding fathers of the European Union, including Salvador de Madariaga, Winston Churchill, Paul-Henri Spaak and Alcide De Gasperi as one of the results of the 1948 Congress of Europe in The Hague to promote "a spirit of solidarity and mutual understanding between all the nations of Western Europe and to provide elite training to individuals who will uphold these values" and "to train an elite of young executives for Europe". It has the status of "Institution of Public Interest", operating according to Belgian law.

The second campus in Natolin (Warsaw), Poland opened in 1992. The College of Europe is historically linked to the establishment of the European Union and its predecessors, and to the creation of the European Movement International, of which the college is a supporting member. Federica Mogherini, former High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, was appointed as the Rector to start in September 2020; former President of the European Council Herman, Count Van Rompuy is chairman of the board.

The College of Europe is bilingual, and students must be proficient in English and French. Students receive an advanced master's degree (formerly called Diploma and Certificate) following a one-year programme. Students specialise in either European Political and Administrative Studies, EU International Relations and Diplomacy Studies, European Law, European Economic Studies, or European Interdisciplinary Studies (at the Natolin campus). For much of its history, the college only admitted a few students, although the number has increased since the 1990s.

Each academic year is named after a patron and referred to as a promotion. The academic year is opened by a leading European politician. The College of Europe shares several traditions with the École nationale d'administration(ENA) of France, but has a more European focus. Its alumni include the former Prime Minister of Denmark Helle Thorning-Schmidt, the former Prime Minister of Finland Alexander Stubb, the former British Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg as well as the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Italy Enzo Moavero Milanesi, several of whom have also been professors at the college. Many of its alumni go on to serve as diplomats and senior civil servants in European institutions.

Recent News

bottom of page